1 & 2 Samuel

This is the 1st of 3 pairs of  Historical books covering Israel’s Age of Kings.
Main characters: Samuel, Saul, and David / covering the shift from theocracy to monarchy
Two of the bloodiest books in the entire Bible (the death in these books MUST be connected to the sins of the kings/people – see James 1:12; 1 Samuel 12:22, 24).

I. Samuel (1-7)  the great prophet
Saul (8-15) – his glory and rebellion
Saul & David (16-31) – their struggle / Jonathan

II. Triumphs of David (1-10) – glory and covenant with THE king of the O.T.
Transgressions of David (11) – adultery with Bathsheba, cover-up, and repentance
Troubles of David (12-24) – Amnon, Absolom, Ahithophel…



  1. 6/10/2012 God’s Love Is Steadfast | ForeWords - 06/08/2012

    […] 1 & 2 Samuel (commconn.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s